Our Investment Committee

Our Investment Committee makes investment decisions regarding University spin-outs on behalf of the University of Cambridge Seed Funds. Drawing on the expertise of the Cambridge Cluster, the committee is experienced in all things commercial.

The Investment Committee is currently comprised of 16 members.

Cambridge Enterprise Investment Committee

John Lee (Chair): John has been CFO of DisplayLink Corp since 2011. He has been actively involved, for many years, in the Cambridge technology scene and has been a senior executive and/or an investor in a number of start-ups. Previously, John was CEO of Velocix, a leading provider of content delivery network solutions, and successfully exited the business to Alcatel-Lucent.

Dr Hermann Hauser: In his long and successful history as an entrepreneur and venture capitalist, Hermann has founded or co-founded companies in a wide range of technology sectors including Acorn Computers (where he helped spin out ARM), and has supported many other start-ups.

Derek Jones: Derek has over 25 years’ experience in the life-science sector. He is currently the CEO at the Babraham Research Campus, a leading UK site for early-stage and scale-up life-science enterprises to locate that benefit from its science capabilities and network community.

Charles Cotton: Charles founded The Cambridge Phenomenon Ltd and has co-written two books about the Cambridge cluster of hi-tech companies. He enjoys science and technology, helping to build global scale companies and developing technology clusters

Andrew Sandham: Andrew has more than 30 years experience in building start-up businesses in the biotechnology sector. He has served in board and executive roles with 12 companies, recently including Kymab, 14M Genomics and Bicycle Therapeutics. He has also worked in venture capital with Abingworth and Syncona.

Dr Barbara Domayne-Hayman: Barbara has a broad range of commercial, fund-raising and general management experience, with many years of business development in the biotech sector. She is currently Chief Business Officer at Autifony Therapeutics and Chairman of Puridify. She has a BA and DPhil in chemistry from the University of Oxford and holds a Sloan Fellowship from London Business School.

Andrew Herbert: Andrew is a computer systems engineer and entrepreneur. He is the former director of the Microsoft Research laboratory in Cambridge.

Dr Richard Jennings: Dr Jennings was Deputy Director of Cambridge Enterprise and obtained funding for and established the first seed fund, the Challenge Fund. He has a substantial track record of spinning out companies including Solexa, Entropic and Kudos, technology licensing, and establishing consultancy and collaborative projects with industry. He has extensive board experience of early stage companies.

Professor Steve Young: Young is a Professor in Information Engineering and a Senior Member of Technical Staff at Apple with expertise in spoken language technology and machine learning. He has been involved in a number of Cambridge spin-outs including Entropic, Phonetic Arts and VocalIQ.

Pam Garside: Pam is an adviser in health care systems and digital health working in the UK and USA. She is a Fellow of the Judge Business School at the University and an angel investor.

Dr Iris Good: Chairman & MD of Good Relations India, a market entry and positioning advisory. Iris has been commercialising technologies for over 20 years, specialising in the Indian market. Following her PhD in Biochemistry she co-established UltraShape, a medical device company, acquired by Syneron in 2012.

Dr Keith Blundy: Keith is the CEO of the Cambridge cancer drug discovery start-up Storm Therapeutics and the former CEO of Cancer Research Technology (CRT). His experience covers ten years developing and commercialising plant biotechnology inventions and the last twenty years in cancer drug discovery and IP commercialisation. Whilst at CRT he established the CRT Pioneer Fund and was involved in forming companies such as Kudos, PIramed, Mission Therapeutics and GammaDelta Therapeutics. He is currently Chairman of Cizzle Biotechnology and on the board of Inivata.

John Halfpenny: John has a successful track record as a Director and CXO of high tech and clean tech companies, having grown and sold several start-ups. He was responsible for CMR Fuel Cells’ London Stock Exchange AIM listing, and was Director of Embedded Software at ARM plc. John founded and sold Micrologic Solutions to ARM plc and has negotiated IP licensing, outsourced manufacturing, distributor and JV agreements globally. John has a Masters’ degree in Engineering Science from the University of Cambridge and is a Fellow of The Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Professor Patrick Maxwell: Patrick Maxwell is a clinician scientist and in 2012 was appointed Regius Professor of Physic and Head of the School of Clinical Medicine at the University of Cambridge. He is also a Director of Cambridge University Health Partners, the Academic Health Sciences Centre for Cambridge. Patrick has been centrally involved in a series of discoveries that have revealed how changes in oxygenation are sensed, and how genetic alterations cause kidney disease. He holds the Wellcome Trust and NIHR Senior Investigator Awards and has a research group in the Cambridge Institute for Medical Research. Patrick is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Dr Tony Raven (Chief Executive Officer, Cambridge Enterprise): Dr Tony Raven joined Cambridge Enterprise as Chief Executive in December 2011. Previously he was Director of Research & Innovation Services at the University of Southampton, where he helped establish Southampton’s international reputation as a leading entrepreneurial university, creating a portfolio of 11 spin-out companies with four listings on the London Stock Exchange.